LimSee3 Help - Maintaining LimSee3

En franšais

The updater

The updater can be launched manually - via the update command in your limsee3 directory - anytime you wish to update LimSee3 (or even if you wish to simply check whether there are new updates). In the following, we present:

  1. How to run the updater
  2. The usual update process
  3. The rescue mode

Running the updater

Before running the updater, make sure to quit LimSee3. If you update while LimSee3 is running, your application could become unstable!

You can launch the updater by double-clicking on one of the update... files in your limsee3 folder. The exact file to use depends on your platform:

Windows
double-click on update.bat
Linux
double-click on update.sh
Mac OS
double-click on update-macos.jar
Windows updater
Fig. 1 - Windows updater

Linux updater
Fig. 2 - Linux updater

Mac OS updater
Fig. 3 - Mac OS updater

Selecting the version to install

The updater starts by examining your current version of LimSee3 and comparing it to the versions available on the Internet. There are two possible outcomes: either your installation is up-to-date (in which case the process stops here) or some new version can be installed and you are prompted to select one.

Updater starts
Fig. 4 - Selecting the version to install/update

If several updates are available, the most recent is proposed by default, but you can choose to install an older one.

It is not possible to "downgrade" your application to an anterior version; the only solution is to uninstall and then reinstall LimSee3.

Automated updating

After you select a new version, the updater determines which parts of LimSee3 should be modified, downloads the modified files and applies the changes. In this way the network traffic is minimized.

Updater in action
Fig. 5 - Updating

Update outcomes

Usually, the update process successfully terminates after applying all modifications:

Updater successfully finished
Fig. 6 - Successful termination

However, it is possible that the update fails, be it because of a lost connection, a disc problem,... or because you cancel the process. In such a case, your installation of LimSee3 could be in an indeterminated state ("between two versions"). Fortunately, the updater is able to recover from a failure: all you have to do is to close the updater, remove the problem (e.g. plug in the unplugged network cable) and launch the updater again. It will enter into the rescue mode, as described in the next section.

The rescue mode

If a run of the updater failed, the next run will propose you to enter the rescue mode:

Rescue mode?
Fig. 7 - Enter rescue mode?

In fact, the same screen appears also if there is already an updater running, so before choosing the action to do, check for other updater instances:

The updater in rescue mode determines which update steps have already been accomplished before the previous crash. Then, it executes only the actions that are still pending.

Status of the document: last changed on 25th February 2008. Copyright INRIA. Created by Jan Mikßč